(The Few Points I Can Think of on) Morality

Shortly after the maturity post, I got started on one about morality. I never talk or think about morality much, but it definitely exists to me. When someone does something I consider "wrong", I can get wicked pissed, even if it doesn't affect me or there's nothing I could realistically do in response to it ("to make it right"). I certainly don't want to be angry in any context, aside from that sense of moving up from feeling something worse, but I do have a very strict moral compass that refuses to get lost.

Now, having written that post and reading it back, I'm realizing why I don't intentionally theorize about morality. For the sake of making a post with some kind of structure, I had watched a video by a role model of mine who separates morality into "levels" (based on Lawrence Kohlberg's theory of moral development,) and tried to explain where I agreed and where I differed. It got really vague really fast. And the last thing the Internet needs is one more anon who considers himself a philosopher and orator but is actually just figuring things out for himself. I don't know what goals I want for this site yet, but it's certainly not that.

So, let's put our focus on a different reference and see what that says about what my morality: the first section of this post.

It's fucking impossible to not refer to your morality when speaking naturally. The difference between "yes" and "no" is literally the most ubiquitous concept out there. Let's lay out the points I made in that first section:

I went off the cuff at the start for...one minute, roughly. I spent about ten making that list. Talk about inefficiency. Oh, wait, I just did!

If you want my take on morality, literally look at anything I say or do. I can't present you every conceivable thing I could say all at once, nor do I video record every second of my life or have the capability to view branching timelines.

All that said, I'll try and boil it down to one straightforward questionnaire answer: I base my morality off of a combination of my cosmological beliefs and the situations that have been brought into my experience, either vicariously or personally.

Sometimes, you just need to eat the pizza instead of counting every single molecule of oil on it. You'll get hungry otherwise. If I tell you "don't think about elephants", what do you think of? A pineapple!

Back